Event name

Euromoney LiveStream: Covid-19 and Africa’s debt burden

28 May 2020

Sponsors

There is no better way to network with your key clients whilst providing a host of interesting panels and lively workshops to keep them informed on the latest market trends. Euromoney conferences provide an unparalleled opportunity for you to reach and remain at the forefront of your market.

To find out how you could benefit from sponsoring a Euromoney Conference please contact us on +44 (0) 20 7779 8488.


Event Overview

Join us live at 15.00-15.45 London/ 10.00-10.45 New York/18.00-18.45 Dubai/ 22.00-22.45 Hong Kong on Thursday 28th May for our Euromoney LiveStream. Register here.

Our guest speaker this week is Peter Sullivan, Public Sector Head for Africa at Citi.

Calls for debt relief in Africa have reignited concerns over the continent’s build-up of debt since the Heavily Indebted Poor Country rescheduling initiative in 1996. Freeing up fiscal space to enable African governments to fight the heath and economic crisis is essential but debt relief is complex. We discuss the new initiative, how debt has accumulated over the past decade, how the composition of creditors has evolved and how African governments have managed public finances. Most importantly we look ahead to Africa’s recovery and at what change of behaviour from both borrowers and lenders is needed to improve Africa’s resilience and reduce its vulnerability to external shocks.

 

Videos

Events, Articles and Videos that might interest you

No related events !

No related events !

No related articles !